top of page

ATXA Therapeutics Founder & CEO Receives 2024 NovaUCD Innovation Award

Professor Therese Kinsella, founder and CEO of ATXA Therapeutics, has been named the recipient of the 2024 NovaUCD Innovation Award.

Professor Kinsella was presented with the Award by Professor Orla Feely, President, University College Dublin (UCD) during the annual presentation of the NovaUCD Innovation Awards which took place at the UCD University Club on April 11, 2024. The annual NovaUCD Innovation Award recognises excellence in innovation or of successes achieved in the commercialisation of UCD research, or other intellectual activity, by the Awardee over a number of years.

Professor Orla Feely, President, UCD said, “The NovaUCD Innovation Awards have become a key annual event highlighting the University’s commitment to innovation and recognise the achievements of our research, innovation and entrepreneurial communities and I congratulate all who have received this year’s Awards. I would also like to wish the Awardees future success as they continue to work towards delivering economic and societal impact in Ireland, and further afield, through their commercialisation, consultancy, entrepreneurial and innovation activities.”

In congratulating Professor Kinsella, the awarding body highlighted ATXA Therapeutics' committment to the advancement of innovative, life-changing treatments for cardiopulmonary diseases. On receiving the award, Professor Kinsella said, “It is indeed a great honour for me to accept this Award from UCD both personally and on behalf of everyone on the ATXA team who have been part of our success journey so far.”

She added, “The company is working towards commencing Phase II clinical trials in PAH patients to demonstrate NTP42’s clinical efficiency. Depending on securing approval from the EMA and FDA regulatory agencies, as well as the necessary inward investment, the Phase II trials are due to run from 2025 through to late 2026.”

Other recipients of awards on the night included Associate Professor Nan Zhang (UCD School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering; Invention of the Year), Associate Professor Antoinette Perry (EpiCapture; Spin-out of the Year), Professor Fiona Timmins (UCD School of School of Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems; Consultancy of the Year), Hugh Sheehy (Go Eve; Licence of the Year), John Byrne (Corlytics; Founder of the Year), and Professor Nick Holden (UCD School of Biosystems and Food Engineering; Innovation Champion of the Year).

148 views0 comments


bottom of page